Rivers State

Gov. Wike Braces Up for Strong Finish, as 18 New Rivers Commissioners Take Oath of Office

Gov. Wike braces up for a strong finish as the following 18 new Rivers State Commissioners take oath of office.

Rivers State Governor Nyesom Ezenwo Wike says his his administration is bracing up for a strong finish and and will make sure a proper handover to his successor is done on 28 May 2023.

Gov. Wike maintained that what it means is for every member of the State Executive Council to recommit themselves to the tasks assigned to them and achieve desired results.

He stated this at the swearing-in ceremony of 18 new commissioners at the Executive Council Chambers of Government House, Port Harcourt on Wednesday.

The governor observed that because some members of the State Executive Council do not appreciate the enormity of the task given to them, rather they take to sycophancy while abandoning their duties.

“This is the last lap of our administration. We have only 7 months to end the tenure of this administration. It is very important for you to understand that you have to double efforts to make sure that what we have started will be completed.”

Gov. Wike emphasised the need for a proper handover to be done to the succeeding administration in good time. He therefore charged the new commissioners and those already in the cabinet to begin compilation of necessary data so that the reports will be ready in good time.

“Make sure that you start preparing your handover note, not waiting for dying minute of the last week. You already know we must handover latest 28th May 2023.

“29th May 2023 is swearing in, so we will fully handover on 28th and then do ceremony of swearing in of the next governor on the 29th May 2023.”

The governor announced the transfer of the Dr. Nabo Graham Douglas Campus of the Nigerian Law School project from the Ministry of Special Projects to the Ministry of Works.

Wike charged the new commissioners to maximise the opportunity given to them to serve the State diligently for the sake of posterity.

“So, if you know you’re not committed to serve the State, you better withdraw.”

The commissioners sworn in are: Prof. Princewill Chike, Hon. Jacobson Nbina, Mr. Ndubuisi Okere, Mrs Inime Aguma, Charles Amadi, Mrs. Tonye Oniyinde Briggs, Mr. Ben Daminabo, Mr. Chris Finebone, Austin Ben Chioma.

Others include, Mr Uchechukwu Nwafor, Dr. Fred Barivule Kpakol, Emenike Oke, Mr. Prince Ohia, Prof. Kaniye Ebeku, Mr. Ezekiel Agri, Mrs. Ukiel Oyaghiri , Hon. Damiete Herbert Miller and Hon Emeka Onowu.

Similarly, the governor also sworn in Mr. Clifford Oparaodu as a member of the Rivers State Judicial Service Commission.